Mini-Challenge #2: COOK


Cooking hasn’t come easy for me. As teens, my best friend taught me two recipes: scrambled eggs and chili dogs.

I can’t cook fried chicken, and haven’t a clue how to grill a steak. I’m not the girl who shows up at a party with a fancy, homemade dessert. My mashed potatoes have been mistaken for potato salad. My omelets have been downright inedible.

Keeping all of this in mind, I’ve decided to challenge myself to recreate Bobby Flay’s Green Pea & Green Chile Soup. Did I really say that? Yes, I did.

In May, the same bff and I dined at Bobby’s Mesa Grill in Vegas. His soup was the tastiest food item to ever cross my taste buds!

I found the recipe at CBS’s The Early Show website. I googled poblano chiles, quizically reached for cream hoping it was the same as crème fraiche, and bought bacon as a replacement for Serrano Ham. Look, even the deli clerk was confused by my request for Serrano Ham, and suggested ::: ahem ::: bacon bits.

My eyes are watering as the chiles are roasting. Is that a good sign?

If all goes well, there will be a photo of the completed dish at the end of this blog.

Mini-Challenge #2: Cook something that strains your brain but delights your senses!

I’ll link the blogs on Sunday, July 26th.


I did it!


Look at these pretty chiles!

Note to self and to you: OMGosh, do not add too much cumin! Just a pinch. Phewy! Also, although the recipe calls for honey, it never suggests when you should add it. Even the video version doesn’t include honey.

Thanks for reading, and GOOD LUCK!

Leave a comment

Filed under Humor, Mini-Challenge, Recipes, Tags, Games, Quizzes

Leave a Reply

