Alice Might Be For You


After hearing about Alice.com on the Clark Howard Show, I wanted to check it out for myself. Alice is a beta site (aka test site) which sells name brand products at a reduced rate. Shipping within the United States is free. Your shopping cart must contain at least 6 items prior to check-out.

I have to admit, it took me about 3 visits to Alice before I had 6 items in my cart. Off the top of my head, I couldn’t think of what I needed. Their little blue ducks taunted prompted me to pick my brand of shampoo, soap, band-aids, etc. It was daunting!

When I’m low on toiletries, I typically run down to Target. If I want to save big and don’t mind driving to the other side of town, I’ll visit Sam’s Club. I decided to compare a few products available online at Alice with a 4-6 day turn-around and available locally with immediate turn-around.

Price Comparison

Alice: $1.36 (after .50 cent coupon)
Target: $2.24



Alice: $9.19 (after $1.00 coupon)
Target: $12.99
Sam’s Club: $12.86



Alice: $5.29
Target: $4.99



Alice: $9.69
Target: $9.99



Alice: $9.69 each
Sam’s Club: $15.88 for three



Alice: $5.62 each
Target: $5.99 each
Sam’s Club: $15.60 for three


Some of Alice’s prices can’t be beat, not even by the bulk/discount store! So I’ve loaded up my cart, processed my order, and am waiting for delivery.

• In this rough economy, how are you cutting costs?
• Where do you find the best prices?
• Are you brand loyal, or find yourself reaching for the lowest priced item no matter the brand?

Visit the Alice Community Blog and sign up for their Newsletter.

17 Comments

Filed under Shopping

17 responses to “Alice Might Be For You

  1. Well, anyway it’s really cool for those who are shut in due to illness or something and can’t shop or someone whos just had a baby. Thanks for doing the footwork/research for us.

  2. Thanks for the kind words, Jean! I love the price comparison. At Alice, we definitely try to make your life easier by eliminating the chore of going to the store so you have more time for things that do matter. And since I write the blog, I really appreciate the plug for our blog too 🙂

  3. Thank you for making this research.
    Was informative.

  4. Sunny Wishes She Was Shopping

    Free shipping may just sway me away from Drugstore.com!

    • Hahahahaha! I love your user name!! Yep, free shipping could be the big incentive to make the switch. See if they have the products you’re used to ordering. I may never have to send Tom to the store for Kotex again!

  5. Love the savings blog. Wow. Do you have to purchase a certain amount to get free shipping? How much do you save if you still have to pay for shipping. I buy online a lot but usually only clothes on sale at the end of seasons. I must go check out Alice.com. Thanks Jean!

    • Hi Theresa! Nope, there’s no minimum spending limit. You could get 6 of the Suave shampoos, and still get free shipping. I double-checked with their customer service dept. on Monday. I hope you like what you see @ Alice. You’re very welcome!

  6. WOW! I am very selfish with my Saturdays and will not spend them at Target, so I always use Amazon and Drugstore.com for everything except fresh food. 🙂 But I think I just fell in love with Alice! Thanks for the great find!

    • Hi Christie! I’m loving your website by the way! My sister shops at Drugstore.com religiously, so I did the price comparison on these products between Alice and Drugstore. Yep, Alice saves. Glad to spread the word.

  7. judegreen52

    Hi Jean! I’ve used Alice.com once and I really liked the convenience (and savings!). Plan to re-order in a couple of days. They processed my order lightning fast and shipping quickly too. (I saw your post about the Farmer’s Market – I hate it when that happens….sorry it was lame! Their ad makes it sound much better….) Hope you’re having a great Sunday.

  8. judegreen52

    and shipping quickly too…..duh. I REALLY need to proof-read before posting 😮

Leave a Reply

