Mini-Challenge #1: Geocaching


iPhone has a new Geocaching application. I installed it late last night, and was surprised to discover the Scarecrow Lady (from last month’s Picture of the Day blogs) had hidden treasure!

This morning, as soon the kids were awake, we searched their room for trinkets that we could exchange for the booty. Pearl didn’t want to part with anything, but Natalie chose two Build-A-Bear bows (elastic bows meant to slide over bear ears).

We piled into the car and made our way to the local landmark. Per instructions, we were not to disturb the scarecrow, her clothing, or her rocks. The small cache could be found “touching the base of her rock pile”. Could, but wasn’t. We failed.

At home, I signed in to Geocaching.com to log our unsuccessful visit to the Valencia Lady. Noticing the prior two visitors were also unsuccessful, I emailed the last “hunter” who had found the cache. Let’s call him Buffalo Chip. Mr. Chip explained that I should contact the cache owner if I thought the site had been disturbed. I hadn’t realized caches had owners! This is a fascinating group.

I’d be willing to try this again. Coincidentally, there is a cache hidden at the exit of the Glider Rides, scene of my 44th birthday!

1st Mini-Challenge: Visit Geocaching.com, enter your zip code, discover an easily identifiable location (notice I have not used GPS yet), and attempt to find a cache.

Share your adventure, and I will link all of the blogs into one post on Friday, July 17th.

Have you GeoCaught?
Will you try treasure hunting?
Do you have a trinket to exchange for booty?
 

Special thanks to Jim for inspiring me to try geocaching.

4 Comments

Filed under Mini-Challenge, Tags, Games, Quizzes

4 responses to “Mini-Challenge #1: Geocaching

  1. I cache with my T-Mobile G1. It’s a blast. Once you get into it, you’ll love it. Dropped my first geocoin tonight.

  2. We did a lot of geocaching a few years ago, but have let it lapse… need to get back to it. 🙂 We have a “bug” we need to send on its way…

Leave a comment